Longread tip: How much my novel cost me by Emily Gould

Surfing slightly aimlessly around the web I came across this longread (long long essay), started reading and didn’t stop until I finished. It will be unlikely you (or me) experience the exact same things and feelings, but Gould’s essay illustrates how (not) to cope with failure, picking yourself up and how to get writing again. Click here for the whole longread.

It took me a while to realize that my book had failed. No one ever told me point-blank that it had.

It was more like the failure occurred in tiny increments over the course of two years, after which it was too late to develop a solid Plan B.

Leave a Reply

