Books aspiring leaders should read, according to Gautam Mukunda

The amount of books I add to GoodReads seems neverending – just like my to-read pile of books on my nightstand. The titles marked red are ones I want to read someday. The one marked orange has been lying on my nightstand for a while now. I read bits and pieces of it. Thing is, reading lots of articles in the same field as Thinking, Fast and Slow for my thesis research, does not exactly make me want to read it right now. Somehow it feels like “homework”, so I’m leaving it on the to-read pile for now. Another time, another place.

Books aspiring leaders should read

Eric: What books do you recommend to your students at Harvard?

Gautam:

  • Daniel Kahneman, Thinking, Fast and Slow
  • Victor Frankl, Man’s Search for Meaning
  • Clayton Christensen, How Will You Measure Your Life?
  • Nassim Taleb, Fooled by Randomness
  • Marcus Aurelius, Meditations
  • Doris Kearns Goodwin, Team of Rivals
  • Roy F. Baumeister and John Tierney, Willpower

From: “Interview – Harvard Business School professor Gautam Mukunda explains the secrets to being a better leader“, Barking up the wrong tree.

Leave a Reply

